Last Updated : 29/07/2016



Q.1         What is CCW ?

               CCW stands for CIVIL CONSTRUCTION WING of All India Radio. AIL India Radio and Doordarshan are units of Prasar Bharti. :

Q.2        Who heads CCW. ?

               CCW is under administrative control of All India Radio. Therefore DG : All India Radio heads CCW. Chief Engineer (C) is functional head of CCW.:

Q.3         What is Prasar Bharati. ?

                Prasar Bharati is statutory autonomous organization established under Prasar Bharati Act, 1990. It is the Public Service Broadcaster of the Country. All India Radio and Doordarshan are constituents of Prasar Bharati. CEO, Prasar Bharati is executive Head of Prasar Bharati. : :

Q.4         What is Prasar Bharati Board. ?

                The Prasar Bharati is governed by the Prasar Bharati Board which comprises a Chairman, an Executive Member (CEO), a member (Finance), a member (Personnel), Six part time members, a representative of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting and the Directors General of All India Radio and Doordarshan as ex-officio members. :

Q.5        What are functions of CCW. ?

              CCW looks after construction and maintenance of building of All India Radio, Doordarshan and other Media Units of Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. Other Media Units are Films Division, Directorate of Advertising and Visual Publicity (DAVP), Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC), Films and Television Training Institute of India (FTTI), Press Information Bureau (PIB) etc. :

Q.6        Can CCW undertake works of other organization. ?

               Yes, CCW has been declared Public Works Organization under GFR 126(2). Accordingly CCW like CPWD can undertake civil works for other departments. :

Q.7        Name the Departments for which CCW has executed works.?

               The different departments for which CCW has executed works are :- :

(i)         Punjab National Bank (PNB) :

(ii)         Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti (NVS) :

(iii)         Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS) :

(iv)         Employees Provident Fund Organization (EPFO) :

(v)         Central Information Commission (CIC) :

(vi)         National Brain Research Centre (NBRC) :

(vii)         National Institute of Technology (NIT, Surat) :